Photos, Camera, Photo Stream & More

Mary Euretig and Dave McKie offer their insights on Photo apps: Are you confused about the differences between the Camera Roll and Photo Stream? Has the concept of iCloud Photo Sharing eluded you? Do you want to learn how to create albums or make a slide show with your photos?  The iPad/iPhone session  on Feb. 28th. They will include an overview of the basics of the Photo app that comes with your devices. 

Handouts from the session include pictures and prep notes ...





Photos App for iPad/iPhone 
February 28, 2014

1. When photo app (flower) is opened you will notice three icons on the bottom bar:  
Photos, Shared and Albums. 
Tap on albums.  An album is simply a collection of pictures.
Camera roll is the first album you see in the upper left corner. 

All pictures taken on either an iPad or iPhone appear in the camera roll on that device permanently, up to the maximum storage capacity of that iDevice, unless you manually delete them.  
Photos downloaded from an email or text message also appear on the camera roll of the device on which the email or message was downloaded.
Receiving a photo: To download a photo from either an email or text, tap and hold on the photo until you get a menu of options.  If you choose “save image”, it will go to your camera roll.  
Sending a photo: In camera roll, tap “select” (in blue letters in upper right hand corner) then, tap selected picture or pictures. 
Tap “share button” (found on either upper left hand corner or lower left hand corner depending on device).  Choose email or text message icon.  
Any image you copy from a website or from Google images goes to the camera roll on the device you used for downloading. 
In order to create an album from your camera roll:  In “albums” tap blue + sign in upper left hand corner.  Name album and save.
You will be prompted to select pictures from the camera roll you want to include. Tap those you wish included and tap “done.”  Voila!
2. Tap on “photos” icon on bottom bar.  This organization of photos is new with iOS 7
Photos are organized by years, collections and moments 
Tap on picture to “show” and “hide” controls.  White top/bottom margins enable view of the controls, but with image truncated at top and bottom.
Black background shows no controls but has view of entire image.  
You can view your pictures on a map showing the location where they were taken.    In order to do this, tap the light gray > next to the location where the picture was taken.  This can be done in Year, Collections or Moments.  
(Location Services must be enabled: Settings>Privacy> Location Services>Camera)

3. My Photo Stream located next to “Camera Roll” in “Albums”  is another, separate album that involves your own personal devices (i.e., no sharing photos with others in this stream).  My Photo Stream works with iOS devices, Mac computers, and PC’s that have iCloud downloaded and enabled.  
None of your 5GB free space is used with My Photo Stream.  Pictures taken on your iPhone or iPad automatically go to other enabled devices.  
My Photo Stream is only able to stream photos to another device if you are connected to the internet or WiFi. 
My Photo Stream (i.e., the iCloud space dedicated to it) will save only the most recent 1,000 photos.  For example, if you want a picture you take on your iPhone to stay indefinitely on your iPad, you must move it into your Camera Roll.  
In order to assign a photo to a contact, tap Photo> Share Button>assign to contact, and you’re directed to your Contact List to complete the assignment. 

4. Shared Stream – Tap on “Shared” icon on bottom bar.  
This is where you can create Streams or receive streams (collections of pictures). 
Stream Share, aka iCloud Photo Sharing, only works among iOS devices. 
With iCloud, you can share your favorite photos with your favorite people when you create a shared stream.
The creator, or “owner” can post photos, videos and comments to the stream and they appear on everyone’s iOS devices, automatically.  (Recipients are able to post comments too; and they can post photos; but they can’t delete the “owner’s” photos.) 
A recipient of a Shared Photo Stream invitation is sent an email and must accept the invitation for Stream to be enabled on their device(s).
 The “Activity” view” within “Share Streams” lets you see the latest updates from all your shared streams in one place.  It includes all photos in all Shared Streams.
On iPad, the Activity photos appear in a collage; on iPhone, in a “ribbon.”